Purpose

I was inspired to write this post in response to a series of interesting experiences I’ve had within the past week:

I generally try not to take things too personally.  However, I was sitting in my media ethics class last week, and we were sharing things we were biased against.  One guy said he was an anthropology major so he didn’t think intelligent design was relevant to news coverage regarding anthropology.

That about did it for me.  I was boiling with anger inside.  I had spent a good amount of my summer immersed in Christian apologetics, and I wasn’t gunna let anybody tell me it was a waste of time.

We all have emotional outbursts sometimes. The challenge is controlling them, and while I didn’t exactly retaliate against this anthropology major, my internalized anger was nonetheless shameful.

This experience brought up some important issues regarding my attitude toward people with different beliefs.  Why did everything have to be a contest or a debate?  Why can we not have faith despite disagreements with others?  Why should we let dissonance affect us emotionally?  I came to realize that faith should ideally be very rational, and it shouldn’t waver as a result of every little emotion we feel throughout the day.

Soon after pondering this, I came across a very interesting blog.  I will link to it in hopes he will link back and generate traffic…http://atheistinchurch.tumblr.com/page/9.   🙂  I have to admit that although this blog was written by an atheist, my difference in opinion didn’t dissuade me from reading it.  I found it to be a very well-written blog with a lot of work put into it.  The author, Tim Pate’s goal isn’t to antagonize theism, but to encourage peaceful dialogue between different belief systems.  To that extent, I agree, which is why I’m writing this blog – in hopes of bringing a voice to another point of view.

I want to accept his invitation to respond to his writing based on my own experiences with religion, since everyone’s experiences are unique and are adequate for forming one’s opinion.

Therefore, don’t expect to see me bash atheism in thisblog.  In fact, here’s a fun fact … before I was a Christian, I thought the majority of the world’s population was made up of atheists – I didn’t even know they were discriminated against. Now I see that much of the world’s population are Christian (even more so in the U.S.), but I’m not following the crowd. Speaking of which, blindly following the crowd is one common stereotype of Christians I’d like to abolish.

Leave a Reply

