Manipulation or Much-Needed Change?

Dear God, since I usually perceive everything in the natural, I interpret my feeling of freedom and joy during church as simply a product of human persuasion and atmospheric musical awesomeness.  However, when I look at it that way, I feel as if I am being manipulated so I become resistant.  If I were to look at it as You giving me hope and joy, then I wouldn’t be resistant because You are not a God of manipulation – You only change us in order to reduce deception.

Man, I don’t know why music makes You more real to me, but I cannot accept the hypothesis that music is manipulating me.  It is changing me, it is bending me, but it is not manipulating me because it is a tool being used by You to reduce deception not increase it.  And the church has the same motives.  The last thing they want is to produce a bunch of hypocritical Christians who only love You in the presence of music.

The thing about tools is that they are not a stable, everlasting mechanism for change.  Tools are not useless, but one cannot rely on tools alone to draw near to You.  We need to have a more solid foundation that stabilizes every aspect of our life, not just those aspects that involve music.  With a solid foundation, we will not leave church and lose faith just because there is no music to stimulate us.  I suppose we could just turn some on, but who wants to be dependent on music?  Sometimes silence is good, and if we can’t feel You in the silence, then we know we have become dependent on an earthly tool instead of divine intervention.

 

But how do we invite divine intervention into our lives?  My understanding is that it is a humble surrender of the mind, followed by a rush of admiration and love, and footstep after footstep of faith in His promises.

5 thoughts on “Manipulation or Much-Needed Change?

  1. This is a very good point!
    Music leads to emotion but what we should be experiencing is beyond emotion or manipulation that is Gods unfailing love that sustains as “when the music fades”, great post

  2. I would recommend you do a study of praise. One of the things you will find is that praise is one of the only things we will take with us into heaven. in psalms it says,
    Psalm 100:4
    Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name.
    You want to enter into the presence of the creator, how else would you do it?
    Why Is he so real to you when music is involved? When else do you have an intimate exchange of love with him? When else do you recognize him for who he is? Your acknowledging him for who he is. God is emotional, if you praise him it needs to be emotional. Next time your in church try this, forget about everyone else focus on and praise God. Really desire to praise him regardless of what anyone else does, he will be with you.
    If it fades when you leave praise him again.
    Revelation 5:13
    Then I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and on the sea, and all that is in them, saying: “To him who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be praise and honor and glory and power, for ever and ever!”
    Revelation 7:12
    saying: “Amen! Praise and glory and wisdom and thanks and honor and power and strength be to our God for ever and ever. Amen!”
    Revelation 19:5
    Then a voice came from the throne, saying: “Praise our God, all you his servants, you who fear him, both great and small!”
    Praise which is synonymous with music is not a tool, it is part of the fabric of adoration and love for our God.

Leave a Reply

