It Works!

“Christianity isn’t true because it works; it works because it’s true.” –Lee Strobel

As I mentioned in my last post, losing faith as soon as you walk out of church is quite common.  Since I am faced with this problem on regular basis, I thought I would share one way God has been slowly increasing my faith outside of church.

(The following description may simply be a visualization, but that doesn’t necessarily mean it is grossly inaccurate.  Maybe my visualization isn’t completely accurate, but it is in the ballpark.)

One night, I was praying for God to take away my endless thoughts, when I heard an ambulance siren outside.  I imagined that it was for me and I was about to have brain surgery (Please don’t laugh).

Then I imagined Jesus fixing the connections/paths I had made in my brain that have become habitual since I follow those connections over and over again (I think that’s how the brain works, I’m not sure).  Anyway, I imagined Him fixing the “damage” I had done to my brain, and during the “surgery” I caught myself having racing thoughts again.

I immediately stopped these racing thoughts since, in light of what was happening, I was basically working against what He was doing, and I was making His job harder so to speak.  It’s not that Jesus can’t do EVERYTHING, but He definitely honors our free will so He won’t do something if we resist.  This “surgery” was able to take place simply because I asked in my own free will.

Since I felt renewed after the “surgery” I naturally had a strong motivation to monitor my mindless, racing thoughts and stop them in their tracks when I recognized them.  I had such a strong motivation because reversing what He did would be such an ungrateful insult to such a careful surgeon.  I can’t fix my brain by myself.  Brains are delicate and complex.  I am so blessed that I have someone who knows EXACTLY how it works.

I know our brain doesn’t determine all our actions since I do believe in the soul and the spirit, but, being a very visual person, I prefer to describe things in a way that paints a picture.  That is why I chose to focus on the brain – we have a better conception of what it looks like.  However, everything thing I said about the healing of the mind can be applied to the soul as well.

This is just one example of how God has been building my faith.  He’s healed me of so much over the past year.  I’ll admit, I go through phases of unhealthy obsessions, but on the whole, I am so blessed that each of these phases has been followed by a phase of renewal and all because I asked for His help.

The Hurt & the Healer by MercyMe:

2 thoughts on “It Works!

  1. So do I, but God or Grace consciousness make a major different in my daily walk rom 6:11, thanks for your post!

  2. Very nicely put! The Bible tells us to cast down imaginations and everything that exalts itself against the knowledge of God. For you, your imaginative and that helps you learn to cast those down.
    Growing in our relationship to Christ is a way of evidence to our salvation. By growing we affirm our salvation. If we stop growing, that to is evidence. The Bible also says to examine yourself to see if you are in the faith.

    Awesome post, I really enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

