Where I’m Headed with this Blog

While this blog has been great for sharing for experiences and journey of faith with fellow Christians, I’ve realized recently that one of the main reasons I write is because I want others to know Christ as well. At the moment, I don’t think I am reaching that audience with my writing. Sometimes that frustrates me, but there is still value in being prepared and I can honestly say that all the writing I do online and offline has prepared me very well for evangelism. Not only has it increased my faith but it has helped me think through some of the doubts and questions that skeptics may have.

The only problem is I write A LOT and everything is kind of unorganized. It wasn’t until today that I sat down to actually evaluate what I’ve written in light of how effective it might be for sharing the Gospel. Being filled with this new purpose has really helped me focus on a few key points instead of being overwhelmed by the sheer volume of what I’ve written and wondering what is important enough to post on my blog. Since I didn’t really have a clear purpose for why I was blogging, I struggled to decide what topics and experiences I should post about. I’m sure my blog posts have been helpful to Christians but I would love to reach nonbelievers as well and I have to face the fact that that population is probably not reading my blog and much of that population may not even enjoy reading.

Therefore, this is my plan: I am going to extract some key points from my blog and combine it with my personal testimony in order to come up with some sort of reference that I can refer to whenever I am presented with a chance to share the Gospel. While writing is the way I feel most comfortable sharing my beliefs, I am beginning to view writing as more of a foundation for evangelism than a channel for it.

Opportunities to share my testimony and my reason for belief during everyday interactions may not be frequent but preparing for such interactions is well worth it. Because of my passion for writing I’m already halfway there. All I have left to do is pray and get organized 🙂

I do still intend to post here but I will probably not spend as much time writing really long posts since I think this time would be better spent developing my testimony. In the meantime, I hope to post shorter though more frequent posts.

“Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.” 1 Peter 3:15

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

