Breaks My Heart

ChristianityI was reading a few chapters from Matthew the other day and for some reason Matthew 26:67-68 really stood out to me and I truly began to grasp its full implications.

“Then they spit in his face and struck him with their fists. Others slapped him and said, ‘Prophesy to us, Messiah. Who hit you?’”

I don’t know why this never struck me before but basically what these people are doing is slapping God in the face; slapping their Creator in the face. And it’s not just “these people,” it’s everyone who’s ever lived and will live.

Tell me that’s not wrong on every level. Tell me that doesn’t break your heart.

For years after becoming a Christian, I’ve struggled with the concept of Hell and the fact that it is what we truly deserve. Adam and Eve disobeying God in the garden just didn’t seem like it was deserving of death; yes it was bad but not that bad, right?

What if it was no different than slapping God in the face? Even if we do not literally do so, we send the same message when we refuse to love Him.

Leave a Reply

