Apologetics and Roadside Beet Sales

I’ve been reading Rainn Wilson’s memoir, The Bassoon King: My Life in Art, Faith, and Idiocy. He’s definitely not shy about what he believes (and what he doesn’t believe). It’s a hilarious read but makes me a little uncomfortable at times – not necessarily a bad thing. At one point, Rainn takes a hit at some of the world’s most followed religions. While I applaud him for his authenticity, I can’t help but respond with my own opinions.

Below is an excerpt from Rainn’s memoir that made me quite uncomfortable:

image

He raises an objection to Christianity – and other religions – that is not uncommon in our society. His argument is fair if you assume that humans couldn’t possibly be more bad than your brain can fathom and God couldn’t possibly be more good than your brain can fathom.

But are those safe assumptions to make?

. . . especially when there’s no reliable writings on such a view of humans and such a view of God. As far as I know, there are no writings in existence that assert the above claim and that have been spoken of as reliable by someone who rose from the dead.

What I wanted to title this blog post:

The Beginning of Faith in Christ: Entertaining the Possibility That Human Nature May Actually Be Worse Than One Can Reasonably Comprehend and God’s Nature May Actually Be More Fantastically Wonderful Than One Can Reasonably Comprehend

No disrespect to Rainn Wilson, by the way. He’s one of my favorite actors and one of the best beet farmers I know.

“First rule in roadside beet sales, put the most attractive beets on top. The ones that make you pull the car over and go, ‘Wow. I need this beet right now.’ Those are the money beets.” – Dwight Schrute

One thought on “Apologetics and Roadside Beet Sales

Leave a Reply

