Week 3: Slow to Anger

CAM01356As it turns out, there are a variety of opinions on Christian meditation. A quick Google search revealed that Christianity Today is against it, and Relevant is for it (if it is focused on Christ and not on other powers). I’m siding more with Relevant on this one.

One concept of meditation that I like is “being in the present.” God is not up in the clouds far away from us. He has given Christians the Holy Spirit to live in each one of us, and He is always present with us. Focusing on the here and now is one of many ways of acknowledging and praising God. While hope is always a good thing, God is doing a lot in the present moment as well – just something to keep in mind as we move on to Week 3.

It’s never too late to join the #BeStillChallenge and tweet about your experiences. Read this blog post for information on Christian meditation as well as an outline of the meditation plan, complete with Bible verses and meditation techniques.

Week 2 was rough for me, but there were some high points. I’m learning that even one minute with God’s truth can considerably improve my outlook on my job and my life. Besides reading scripture, another way I like to soak in God’s truth is through music. My favorite Christian artist right now is Young Oceans. Here’s one of their songs:

With no further ado . . .

Week 3

  • Bible verse – “The Lord is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love.” Psalm 145:8
  • Meditation-ish concept – While you’re being still, you will probably have a hard time focusing on God’s nearness, and you’ll probably struggle to experience him as a personal God right at that moment. Instead, your mind might try to understand and analyze confusing aspects of God’s character. Your mind also might fly off on a breeze of selfish thoughts or it might float off on a wave of worry. Whatever happens – and I truly mean whatever – DON’T BE MEAN TO YOURSELF!
  • Why – I am a recovering perfectionist. Also, as I mentioned in Week 2, my brain never shuts off. Not a great combination. Analytical, weird or negative thoughts flow in and out like water through a leaky dam. Then, I criticize the dam and wonder if I need professional help – a psychologist, or maybe some beavers, hmmmmm. Anyway, I often think God is disappointed in me, and I think other Christians would criticize me if they knew how chaotic my mind was. I know enough about God, based on his word, to know that he is not a God of criticism. He is patient and loving, and is especially joyful when I receive His grace and move on with the life he gave me instead of chastising myself into a better thought life. “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.” Galatians 5:1

Join the Be Still Challenge on Twitter using the hashtag #BeStillChallenge.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Week 3: Slow to Anger

Leave a Reply

