Week 4: Losing Steam

Apart from me you can do nothingI’m losing steam. I’m losing energy for writing, and I’m losing the motivation for meditation. Nonetheless, it’s time for Week 4, and it’s time for me to breathe in God’s love. Apart from him, I cannot breathe. Apart from him, I can do nothing.

The practice of deep breathing is often associated with the practice of mindfulness, which is often associated with Buddhism. However, Buddhists did not invent breathing – even breathing deeply into one’s lungs – so I have no concerns about recommending deep breathing as the core concept of Week 4.

Week 4

  • Bible verse– “Then the Lord God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.” Genesis 2:7
  • Meditation-ish concept– Deep breathing – also known as diaphragmatic breathing – involves the contraction of the diaphragm the expansion of the abdomen. In simpler terms, it involves slow inhalation through the nose and slow exhalation through the mouth. This maximizes the amount of oxygen that goes into your bloodstream, and you slowly begin to feel more relaxed. Try doing this several times a day while meditating on the verse above.
  • Why– Whenever I take the time to notice my breath, I come to appreciate the gift of being alive. I like to think of how I might describe the sensation of being alive to an inquiring zombie. This heightens my awareness of my breath, and stirs my appreciation of God’s design for keeping us alive.

Join the Be Still Challenge on Twitter using the hashtag #BeStillChallenge.

2 thoughts on “Week 4: Losing Steam

  1. I appreciate breathing. I appreciate it as an act of worship, in reverence of who gave the breath to breathe. I appreciate it in the fact that it’s not just God keeping us alive for salvation, but it’s a method of intimacy. That God created, God breathed, and He hasn’t left since. And even remembering it let’s that next inhale come a bit easier. Thanks for the post! I needed that! You don’t need steam, friend, you have breathe.

Leave a Reply

