Week 6: Not My Own Strength

not my own strengthThis week, I’m going to try something different. I’m still going to take intermittent breaks, but I’m also going to try to take one long, eight-hour “break.” Before you start freaking out, hear me out.

Week 6:

  • Bible verse – “Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:17)
  • Meditation-ish concept – Stillness is not just about taking breaks; it is a state of mind in which every endeavor – without exception – feels slightly lighter. There is a peace that comes with simultaneously praying and working. As hard as it seems, both can be done at once. Talk to God. Say anything. Be honest. Your thoughts are running wild anyway during work (at least mine are) – so why not direct them toward God instead of having a one-sided conversation with yourself (as fun as that is)?
  • Why – Aside from my day job, my everyday life can be stressful as well – especially now that I’ve accepted a freelance writing gig. It’s a lot more time-consuming than I anticipated. I’ve just been going, going, going, afraid that if I stop, I won’t meet my deadline; forgetting that praying in the midst of it could actually make the process less exhausting. I’ve been trying to meet my deadline in my own strength, and I wish I would let go. I think I lack trust in God. I’m fast and efficient and it has gotten me far in life, but not spiritually speaking. In that respect, I think it’s hindered my relationship with God since I’m not inviting him into every area of my life. I’ve noticed that I feel much closer to God when I live my life with divine expectation – expectation that he can do more than I can ask or imagine.

“He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” (Isaiah 40:28-31)

Join the Be Still Challenge on Twitter using the hashtag #BeStillChallenge.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

