When I Don’t Accept God’s Blessings

god-blessingsMy refusal to accept blessings that are not given to everyone on earth does no one any good. Does it help the people in Africa who are starving right now? Does it help the people in Orlando who are grieving right now?

Feeling guilty for my “good life,” and feeling pity for others’ “not-so-good lives,” renders me unable to enjoy – and use – the blessings God has given me. It helps to remember that the reason he gave me material and spiritual blessings wasn’t just for the purpose of my enjoyment. It was for the purpose of blessing others.

If I want to help people who are suffering, then accepting the blessings God has given me is the first step. I shouldn’t view blessings (material or spiritual) as signs that God is being exceptionally kind to me in particular, but as signs that God is being exceptionally entrusting to me in particular. He is entrusting me with the responsibility of using my physical, material and spiritual gifts to help those in need. These gifts equip me to better be his hands and feet. If I reject these gifts because they make me feel guilty in light of others’ suffering, then I am doing no one any favors.

Enough with the “God just loves me more,” or “I’m just a better person than they are.” God doesn’t love me more than he loves those who are suffering immensely right now. He just appointed me – at this particular time – to be a messenger of his love, and others – at this particular time – to be the recipients. Someday, the tables could be turned.

Leave a Reply

