Who Wants to Read a Blog Full of Unresolved Struggles?

Writing a Book
Are you sure about that?

“Look away, look away, look away. This {blog} will wreck your evening, your whole life and your day. Every single {blog post} is nothing but dismay so look away, look away, look away.”

– {modified} Theme song from The Series of Unfortunate Events

Wait! Don’t look away yet. Let me explain the actual purpose of my blog . . .

The ultimate goal of “Wide-eyed and Wild” is to help Christians focus on the simple Gospel message, let go of condemnation and/or stop trying to “feel” love for God. If these people already believe the Gospel message, then my goal seems rather of secondary importance, but it is important nonetheless.

Think about this: the more Christians who focus on the simple Gospel of grace, the more this message will be spread to others. Christians – at least the subset who read my blog –will then be less likely to remain in an “us vs. them” mindset that isolates them from people of other faiths and Christians of other denominations. Based on my blog readership, I may only be able to reach a few Christians who’ll each influence a few more, but changing a few lives is better than changing none at all.

Also, think about how many Christians may feel alone, confused and miserable in their faith struggles and/or lack of “emotion.” These people might find encouragement in reading about my own faith struggles and realizing, “Hey, this is normal. Maybe I shouldn’t be so hard on myself.” In turn, they will be less severe on others who are struggling.

I’m not saying that faith struggles are in any way comparable to the series of unfortunate events experienced by the Baudelaires, but I will say that self-hatred is the root of a lot of evil in the world, and if I can get one more person to accept grace, it’s worth the effort.

I will try to accomplish this by . . .

  1. Quieting my mind and praying/listening for guidance.
  2. Studying Jesus’ teachings post-resurrection.
  3. Using this as a lens through which to interpret the rest of the Bible.
  4. Sharing my thoughts with my readers while emphasizing the fact that I am fumbling through this along with them.
  5. Reevaluating my thoughts by quieting my mind and praying/listening for guidance again.
  6. Continuing on the journey, never expecting to arrive at complete understanding.
  7. Never being too proud to reroute and backtrack when necessary.

What do you think? Is the goal worth the effort? If not, it’s at least a good way of honing my marketing and search engine optimization skills, which will help me in my marketing career. That by itself, though, probably isn’t enough to keep me motivated. As any published author will tell you, if you don’t have a purpose beyond “making money,” you won’t be able to persist in the book-writing process when the going gets tough. Even though, I’m going to start off with self-publishing, it’s still hard work. I need to make sure that I’ll be satisfied if my book positively impacts the life of just one person.

I know it sounds prideful to say that my musings could positively impact someone, but if every writer thought that, the only authors would be those who “have it all figured out.” Where then are the isolated strugglers to find their encouragement? They might only find it in a blog or book that “doesn’t have it all figured out.”

Speaking of which, the Psalms are good reading material for strugglers . . .

“When I remember God, then I am disturbed; When I sigh, then my Spirit grows faint. Selah. You have held my eyelids open; I am so troubled that I cannot speak.” Psalm 77:3-4

Please don’t look away 🙂

One thought on “Who Wants to Read a Blog Full of Unresolved Struggles?

Leave a Reply

